(800) 624-4653
When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball - Rules & Etiquette #90.

When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball – Rules & Etiquette #90.

When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball – Rules & Etiquette #90.

Hi, I’m Mel Sole, Director of Instruction at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.  We conduct 1, 2, and 3-day golf schools, hourly golf lessons, and senior golf schools—any golf instruction program your heart desires. Give us a call at 800-624-4653 or 843-237-4993.  We will be happy to book a commuter school or a package that contains accommodations, golf, and golf school.

Golf Blog by the Mel Sole Golf School.

This week’s question addresses the situation where a player hits a tee shot and cannot see the result.  When he/she arrives at the green, there is no ball in sight.  After a short search, the player returns to the tee and puts another ball in play.  When he is putting out, he discovers that his original ball was in the hole!  What is the ruling?  How should the player proceed?

Please reply to melsolegolf@gmail.com.  The first correct entry will win a free one-hour lesson at the Mel Sole Golf School at either the SC, NC, or NY location.

An apology from Two Weeks ago.

I have an apology to make on the rule I gave two weeks ago.  I mentioned that at The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass, a player, whose name I could not remember at the time, had hit his ball on the green.  He went to mark his ball and, as he stood up, tossed his ball to the caddie without actually looking at the caddie.  The caddie was not paying attention, and the ball went sailing past and into the water. 

I found out that the player was Dustin Johnson, and his brother was caddying for him. Dustin’s caddie jumped into the water, bent down, and pulled out Justin’s ball!  What are the odds! Because he could retrieve it, there was no penalty, and Dustin was able to proceed with his round.  If they had been unable to find the ball, Dustin would have received a two-stroke penalty, placed the new ball where his marker was and putted out. 

Thanks to Leslie Buchanan for pointing out my error.  Leslie, you will receive a one-hour lesson for getting the correct answer!

Last Week’s Quiz.

A golf ball comes to rest against an out-of-bounds fence.  The pole supporting the fence is on the golf course side, and the poles are wider than a golf ball.  Is the golf ball in or out of bounds?

Last week’s Answer.

Because the ball is smaller than the pole, and the out-of-bounds measurement is taken from the inside (golf course side) of the pole, the ball is out of bounds, even though it is resting on the golf course side of the fence.  There were no winners from this quiz.  Please try again this week!

Source: Mel Sole Golf School

Thanks for watching When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball – Rules & Etiquette #90.

Related Post.

Is the Golf Ball In or Out of Bounds – Rules & Etiquette #89.

Provisional or Another Ball – Rules & Etiquette #66.

Provisional Ball or Another Ball – Rules & Etiquette #51.

In or Out of Bounds – Rules & Etiquette #50.

Know the Rules – Lower Your Scores – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Tags: , , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal