(800) 624-4653
Know the Rules - Lower Your Scores - Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

Know the Rules – Lower Your Scores – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

Know the Rules – Lower Your Scores – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

Hi, I’m Mel Sole, Director of Instruction at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.  We conduct 1, 2, and 3-day golf schools, hourly golf lessons, and senior golf schools—any golf instruction program your heart desires. Give us a call at 800-624-4653 or 843-237-4993.  We will be happy to book a commuter school or a package that contains accommodations, golf, and golf school.

Golf Blog by the Mel Sole Golf School.

Last week I posed a question to all my viewers and turned the Rules and Etiquette Wednesday into a quiz. 

Player A hits his drive over the green. His partner sees a white stake over the green and tells Player A that he thinks the ball is out of bounds.  Player A then plays a provisional ball, and it comes to rest short of the green but closer to the hole than his original ball. He plays his provisional ball onto the green.  At that point, he walks behind the green to retrieve his original ball, which had been visible all along and discovered that the original ball was in bounds and that the white stake seen by his fellow competitor was not an out-of-bounds stake. Still, just a piece of white wood someone had discarded.  What was the ruling?

The answer is that player A incurred a two-shot penalty for playing the provisional ball (which was closer to the hole than the original) BEFORE checking out the original ball to make sure it was out of bounds.  Two people got this right, and I am awarding the first Mel Sole Rules Quiz winner to Amir Nikravesh.  Congratulations.  Contact me at melsolegolf@gmail.com to set up your one-hour lesson.

Today’s Rules Quiz!

Win a one-hour lesson at the Mel Sole Golf School by answering the rules quiz below!

Today’s quiz is as follows:  Player A and player B are partners in a best-ball stroke play competition. Both of them hit their balls into a greenside bunker. Player A removes a loose impediment and incurs a two-stroke penalty for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.  The question is this – Does player B also incur the penalty because he is the partner of player A?  Send your answers via email to melsolegolf@gmail.com.  I will announce the winner at next Wednesday’s Rules episode.  Good Luck!

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

Thanks for watching – Know the Rules – Lower Your Scores – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

Related Posts.

In or Out of Bounds – Rules & Etiquette #50.

What is the Ruling Quiz – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #81.

A Quiz from The Players Championship – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.

A Ball Moved in a Bunker by Another Player – Rules & Etiquette #94.

Asking Giving and Receiving Advice Is it a Penalty – Rules & Etiquette #92.

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Tripadvisor Seal