(800) 624-4653

Posts Tagged ‘golf etiquette’

Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty?

Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty?

Today is June 13th, 2018 and we present Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty? Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #92.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at  Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty?

As most of my followers know by now, we have turned Rules & Etiquette Wednesday's into a quiz.  Here was last . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball?

When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball?

Today is May 30th, 2018 and we present When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball?  Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #90.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

When is a Provisional Ball not a Provisional Ball?

This week's question addresses the situation where a player hits a tee shot and is unable to see the result . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

A Quiz from The Players Championship!

A Quiz from The Players Championship!

Today is May 16th, 2018 and we present A Quiz from the Players Championship! Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

A Quiz from The Players Championship!

This week's quiz happened a few years ago at The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass.  On the famous 17th green in fact.  A player, whose name I cannot remember, had hit his ball on the green.  He went to mark . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Is using a towel to indicate the line of play on the golf course legal?

Is using a towel to indicate the line of play on the golf course legal?

Today is April 25th, 2018 and we present Is using a towel to indicate the line of play on the golf course legal? Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #85.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School located at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Is using a towel to indicate the line of play on the golf course legal?

This week's quiz is this:  If a player hits the ball into a hazard . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

May I Replace a Divot that is on my Line but Off the Green?

May I Replace a Divot that is on my Line but Off the Green?

Today is April 18th, 2018 and we present May I Replace a Divot that is on my Line but Off the Green?  Wednesday Rules and Etiquette #84.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Lately, I have decided that instead of just showing a rules situation and giving you the correct procedure, I have turned this into a quiz.  This blog is now a learning . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Free Lesson with the Correct Answer.

Free Lesson with the Correct Answer.

Today is April 11th, 2018 and we present Free Lesson with the Correct Answer.  Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #83.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Free Lesson with the Correct Answer.

Each week I pose a rules question and the person with the correct answer gets a free one hour lesson.   This week we have a situation where a player's ball came to rest . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

What is the Ruling? Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #81!

Today is March 28th, 2018 and we present What is the Ruling?  Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #81.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Today we are introducing something new to our Rules & Etiquette Wednesday video blog.  A Quiz!  For the next few weeks, I will be posing a rules situation. It will be up to you to send . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Caddie deems ball Unplayable.

Caddie deems ball Unplayable.

Today is March 21st, 2018 and we present Caddie deems ball Unplayable.  Rules and Etiquette Wednesday #80.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School located in Pawleys Island, SC.

Caddie deems ball Unplayable.

The Definition of Rule 28 says "The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course, except when the ball is in a water hazard.  The player is the sole judge as to whether the ball is unplayable."

Example.

A situation happened on the European . . .

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #63. A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.

Today is November 22nd, 2017, and we present Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #63.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.  Today we talk about the correct etiquette with regards to the flagstick and the putting green.  

https://youtu.be/QKosvdwQIWc

Source: Mel Sole Golf School

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #61. A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.

Today is November 8th, 2017, and we present Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #61.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.  This weeks theme is "accuracy" and what do the rules of golf have to do with accuracy.  Well, Rule 8-2a allows a player to place a club on the ground to help them aim correctly, as long as the player picks up that club before hitting the shot.  Here's how to do this!

https://youtu.be/q6e-s2X-um0

Source: Mel Sole Golf School

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #59. A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.

Today is October 25th, 2017, and we present Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #59.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.  Today we talk about teaching your kids or grandkids how to react when they have been assessed a penalty, let them know how to handle this situation.  There is definitely a right way and a wrong way.

https://youtu.be/fHuWE47Qhyk

Source: Mel Sole Golf School 

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #55. A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.

Today is September 27th, 2017, and we present Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #55.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole.  Today Mel talks about bunker etiquette and how to exit a bunker.

https://youtu.be/UExCSE8uDC4

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

You have reached a restricted page. To access this content, learn about our VIP Program here »

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal