(800) 624-4653
world golf news on monday rewind #77.

The Latest World Golf News on Monday Rewind #77.

Today is February 26th, 2018 and we present the Latest World Golf News on Monday Rewind #77.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School.

PGA Tour.

An exciting finish at the Honda Classic at PGA National in Palm Springs, FL.  Justin Thomas was one behind Luke List coming into the last hole of regulation.  Justin hit his drive into the rough and was forced to lay up on this demanding par 5.  Luke hit his second into the left-hand bunker.  Justin nearly holed his second to make birdie and Luke failed to get the ball up and down. 

So, off to a playoff they went.  It was Luke’s turn to hit his drive into the rough and he pulled his second well left.  A great pitch shot to 10 feet left him with a possible birdie.  Meanwhile, Justin hit his second on the green about 30 feet and hit his first putt to 3 feet.  Luke failed to hole his birdie and Justin tapped in for the victory.  Justin has now won six tournaments out of his last 31, a 5:1 ratio.  Great performance!

European Tour.

Eddie Pepperell from England won his first European Tour title at the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters at the Doha Golf Club in Qatar. Eddie lost his tour card in 2016 and has had an up and down ride over the last few years.  He looked really nervous in the last round and coming down the last hole it looked like he was going to blow it.  A poor drive and a poor second on the par 5 18 left him with a wedge from the rough for his third.  He managed to get it on the green to about 25 feet and two-putted for the victory at -18.  Pepperell beat Oliver Fisher, another Englishman, by one.

LPGA.

Jessica Korda won the Honda LPGA Thailand Chonburi at the Siam Country Club in Thailand. She broke the tournament record when she finished at 25-under 263. She won by four shots over Lexi Thompson, who shot a final round 8-under 64, and Moriya Jutanugarn. They tied for second on 21-under after they both birdied the 18th. 

Lexi had another run-in with the rules in the second round when she was penalized two strokes for moving a signboard.  In some tournaments, a signboard is a movable obstruction, and in some, it is a temporary immovable obstruction.  The players are given a local rules sheet the beginning of each tournament laying this out.  Lexi obviously did not read hers.  Fortunately, these two shots did not cost Lexi the tournament as it did at the ANA Inspiration back in April 2017. 

Other World Golf News.

U.S. Ryder Cup captain Jim Furyk has announced that Tiger Woods and Steve Stricker will join David Love III as Vice-Captains for the Ryder Cup. Tiger has said that he would still love to make the team as a player.  With his recent play at PGA National, I think he could rate a captain’s pick if the team was to be picked right now!

This Coming Week.

PGA TOUR / EURO TOUR – WGC – Mexico Championship 
EUROPEAN / SUNSHINE TOUR – Tshwane Open 
LPGA – HSBC Women’s World Championship 

Source: Mel Sole Golf School

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal