(800) 624-4653
When is a Golf Swing Whiff not a Whiff?

When is a Golf Swing Whiff not a Whiff?

Today is August 15th, 2018 and we present When is a Golf Swing Whiff not a Whiff? Rules and Etiquette Wednesday #101.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

When is a Golf Swing Whiff not a Whiff?

A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball.  The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball but is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball.  Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?

Send your answer to melsolegolf@gmail.com as this is the only legal way of entering this competition.

Last Weeks Quiz:

A player has to take a drop alongside a hazard.  He is dropping a ball onto a steep slope.  It is obvious that the ball, once it hits the ground, is going to roll into the hazard.  The player asks whether he can forgo the normal drop procedure and just place the ball.  He is going to have to do that anyway after 2 balls have rolled into the hazard.

My question this week is can he place the ball without doing the normal 2 drops? And if not what is the penalty if he did so? 

Last Week’s answer:

Rule 20-2c/3 says No, dropping and re-dropping are necessary to resolve any doubt as to whether the ball will roll into the hazard, and to establish the spot at which the ball must be placed, if necessary.

Last Weeks Winner:

Congratulations to Ted Boeve of Interlochen, Michigan, who submitted the correct answer in the nick of time.  Contact us to book your free one hour lesson, Ted.

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal