(800) 624-4653
One Club Length or Two - Rules & Etiquette #62

One Club Length or Two – Rules & Etiquette #62

One Club Length or Two – Rules & Etiquette #62

Hi, I’m Mel Sole, Director of Instruction at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.  We conduct 1, 2 and 3-day golf schools, hourly golf lessons, and senior golf schools.  Any type of golf instruction program your heart desires. Give us a call at 800-624-4653 or 843-237-4993.  We will be happy to book a commuter school or a package that contains accommodations, golf, and golf school.

Golf Blog by the Mel Sole Golf School.

A Nice and simple interpretation of the rules today.  When taking a drop, when do you take one club length and when do you take two?  Pretty simple!

Follow along as I describe when to take a two club length drop and when you can only take only one!

One Clublength Relief.

When there is no penalty, you only get to move your ball one club length.  This occurs when the ball is on a cart path, in ground under repair, or such areas on the course that are not an integral part of the course.  Also from abnormal playing conditions like casual water, embedded ball, or on an incorrect green.

Two Clublength Relief.

When you are assessed a penalty, and you need to move your ball, you are allowed to move the ball two club-lengths.  This would occur when you are in a hazard, an unplayable lie, or lateral hazard.

No wonder the best players in the world need Rules Officials on the golf course! 

Source: Mel Sole Golf School

Thanks for watching One Club Length or Two – Rules & Etiquette #62 Relief  Hope this helps the next time you have to take a drop.

Related Post.

Do you know the procedure for an unplayable lie.

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal