(800) 624-4653
Hitting two balls in a bunker at the same time - Rules & Etiquette #87.

Hitting two balls in a bunker at the same time – Rules & Etiquette #87.

Hitting two balls in a bunker at the same time – Rules & Etiquette #87.

Hi, I’m Mel Sole, Director of Instruction at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.  We conduct 1, 2, and 3-day golf schools, hourly golf lessons, and senior golf schools—any golf instruction program your heart desires. Give us a call at 800-624-4653 or 843-237-4993.  We will be happy to book a commuter school or a package that contains accommodations, golf, and golf school.

Golf Blog by the Mel Sole Golf School.

This week’s Rules and Etiquette quiz is a complicated one.  This is the question, “Have you ever hit two balls in a bunker simultaneously?” This situation did happen, and the player involved wrote a letter to the USGA to clarify the incident.  The outcome will be revealed in next week’s blog.

The situation.

A player plays a bunker shot.  In doing so, he dislodges another ball that was buried in the sand under the ball he played.  It turns out the ball on top of the sand was not his.  The ball buried under the sand was his ball, and he dislodged it when he hit the top ball.  What is the ruling?  The winner will receive a free one-hour lesson at either the South Carolina, North Carolina, or New York locations.

Last Weeks Results.

Last week the question was Player C and Player D are playing player A and B.  Players C and D are sharing a caddie.  The caddie accidentally moves player A’s ball.  Is there a penalty, and if so, how many shots and who incurs the penalty?

The answer was Rule 18-3b, which provides that if an opponent’s caddie moves a player’s ball, the opponent incurs a penalty stroke.  However, when the opponents share a caddie, there is no fair way of assigning a penalty to one side. Accordingly, in equity, Rule 1-4, both C and D incur a penalty stroke.  A must replace his ball.

There was no winner of last week’s quiz!  Try again this week.

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

Thanks for watching – Hitting two balls in a bunker at the same time – Rules & Etiquette #87.

Related Post.

Asking Giving and Receiving Advice Is it a Penalty – Rules & Etiquette #92.

Free Lesson with the Correct Answer – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #83.

A Ball Moved in a Bunker by Another Player – Rules & Etiquette #94.

Bunker Shots Short Game Saturday #3.

The Very High Bunker Shot – Trouble Shot Tuesday #91.

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Tags: , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal