(800) 624-4653
Ball assisting play on the golf course.

Ball assisting play on the golf course.

Today is August 28th, 2018 and we present Ball assisting play on the golf course. Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #103.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Ball assisting play on the golf course.

Player A and player B were playing a match.  Player C and player D were also playing a match but had nothing to do with A & B’s match.  As player A was getting ready to play a chip shot onto the green, player B noticed that player C’s ball was in close proximity to the hole and asked player C to please mark his ball. Player C asked if he had to do that under the rules?

So my question is “Does player C have to mark his ball and can he refuse to do that.”  Answers to melsolegolf@gmail.com Remember, this is the only acceptable way to enter this quiz.  All other answers not via the email will not be accepted.

Last Week’s Quiz.

Some golfers I have played golf with mark the golf ball on the putting green with a coin or a marker in front of the ball.  I don’t understand this and look sceptically at this practice.  I always watch carefully to see whether the player places his ball behind the marker when he replaces his ball.  Most times they do, but I have had to remind a player every now and again to please put the ball in the proper place. Can you mark the golf ball on the putting green this way? Is this practice legal?  That is our question for this week.  The first correct entry will receive a one-hour lesson at our SC, NC or NY locations.  

The Correct Answer.

Yes, you can mark your ball in front of your ball.  In fact, you can mark it on any side, as long as you replace it in the same sport.  However, there is an exception to this rule, if there is a spike mark in front of your ball and by marking the ball in front you were to flatten the tuft of grass, you are improving your line to the hole and there is a penalty for that.

Last Week’s Winner.

Lance@Kulman.org. Congratulations Lance.  I normally request that entries give their full name, however, as a first-time contestant, I will let that slide.  Please note that there is a one-year expiry on all prizes resulting from these quizzes.

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

Tags: , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal