(800) 624-4653
Asking Giving and Receiving Advice Is it a Penalty - Rules & Etiquette #92.

Asking Giving and Receiving Advice – Is it a Penalty – Rules & Etiquette #92.

Asking Giving and Receiving Advice Is it a Penalty – Rules & Etiquette #92.

Hi, I’m Mel Sole, Director of Instruction at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.  We conduct 1, 2, and 3-day golf schools, hourly golf lessons, and senior golf schools—any golf instruction program your heart desires. Give us a call at 800-624-4653 or 843-237-4993.  We will be happy to book a commuter school or a package that contains accommodations, golf, and golf school.

Golf Blog by the Mel Sole Golf School.

As most of my followers know by now, we have turned Rules & Etiquette Wednesdays into a quiz.  Here was last week’s question.

Part 1: A player hits a tee shot in the rough.  After two or three minutes, he decides to go back to the tee and play another ball.  He Tees the ball up, but his playing partners find the ball within the designated 5-minute rule just before he hits.  Can the player return to his original ball?   

Part 2: A player hits his second shot towards the green.  After two or three minutes of searching for the ball, he decides to return to the spot of his last shot and play another ball.  He drops the ball, but his playing partners find the ball within the designated 5-minute rule just before he hits.  Can the player return to his original ball?

The Answer:  In part one, the player may return to play the original ball because the ball was not yet “in play.” On a tee shot, the ball is in play once the player plays a stroke.

In part two, the player may NOT return to his original ball because it is in play once the ball is dropped.  The player must play the dropped ball.

The Winner:  Marc Cools gave the correct answer.  Please contact us, Marc, and set up your one-hour lesson at either the SC, NC, or NY locations.

This weeks quiz: 

This actually happened to me way back when I was playing on the South African Sunshine Tour. It was during the South African Master at Kensington GC. Playing a threesome,  one player asked another what club he hit.  The player answered, “A 6 iron.”  What is the penalty, if any, and who gets it?

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

Thanks for watching – Asking Giving and Receiving Advice Is it a Penalty – Rules & Etiquette #92.

Related Post.

Hitting two balls in a bunker at the same time – Rules & Etiquette #87.

Keep Your Head Down is bad Advice!

Know the Rules – Lower Your Scores – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

What is the Ruling Quiz – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #81.

A Quiz from The Players Championship – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Tags: , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal