(800) 624-4653
A Quiz from The Players Championship - Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.

A Quiz from The Players Championship – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.

A Quiz from The Players Championship – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.

Hi, I’m Mel Sole, Director of Instruction at the Mel Sole Golf School, headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.  We conduct 1, 2, and 3-day golf schools, hourly golf lessons, and senior golf schools—any type of golf instruction program your heart desires. Give us a call at 800-624-4653 or 843-237-4993.  We will be happy to book a commuter school or a package that contains accommodations, golf, and golf school.

Golf Blog by the Mel Sole Golf School.

This week’s quiz happened a few years ago at The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass.  On the famous 17th green, in fact.  A player, whose name I cannot remember, had hit his ball on the green.  He went to mark his ball and, as he stood up, tossed his ball to the caddie without actually looking at the caddie.  The caddie was not paying attention, and the ball went sailing past and into the water.  What is the ruling?  Is there a penalty, and if so, what is the procedure the player should follow?  Good Luck!  The winner will receive a free one-hour lesson at either the SC, NC, or NY locations.

Last Week’s Question and Answer.

A player plays a bunker shot.  In doing so, he dislodges another ball that was buried in the sand under the ball he played.  It turns out the ball on top of the sand was not his ball. The ball buried under the sand was his ball, and he dislodged it when he hit the top ball.  What is the ruling? 

The answer is that the player incurs a two-shot penalty for playing a wrong ball but must replace his ball in the same spot it was with just enough ball showing to see it to play the shot.  If the player fails to replace the ball but continues with the correct ball, the player incurs another two-shot penalty for playing from the wrong position.  This would be a total of four shots!

Last Weeks Winner.

The winner was Glenn Wisse of New Philadelphia, Ohio.  Congrats, Glenn.  Give us a call next time you are in the area so we can set up your one-hour lesson!

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

Thanks for watching A Quiz from The Players Championship – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.

Related Post.

What is the Ruling Quiz – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #81.

A Ball Moved in a Bunker by Another Player – Rules & Etiquette #94.

Know the Rules – Lower Your Scores – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #82.

Free Lesson with the Correct Answer – Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #83.

Can you putt on the Practice Green between holes – Rules & Etiquette #97?

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Tags: , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal