Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty?

Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty?

Today is June 13th, 2018 and we present Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty? Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #92.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at  Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

Asking, Giving and Receiving Advice. Is there a Penalty?

As most of my followers know by now, we have turned Rules & Etiquette Wednesday’s into a quiz.  Here was last weeks question.

Part 1: A player hits a tee shot in the rough.  After two or three minutes he decides to go back to the tee and play another ball.  Tees the ball up, but just before he hits, his playing partners find the ball within the designated 5-minute rule.  Can the player return to his original ball?   

Part 2: A player hits his second shot towards the green.  After two or three minutes of searching for the ball, he decides to return to the spot of his last shot and play another ball.  He drops the ball, but just before he hits, his playing partners find the ball within the designated 5-minute rule.  Can the player return to his original ball?

The Answer:  In part one, the player may return to play the original ball because the ball was not yet “in play.” On a tee shot the ball is in play once the player plays a stroke.

In part two, the player may NOT return to his original ball because once the ball is dropped it is in play.  The player must play the dropped ball.

The Winner:  Marc Cools gave the correct answer.  Please contact us Marc and set up your one-hour lesson at either the SC, NC or NY locations.

This weeks quiz: 

This actually happened to me way back when I was playing on the South African Sunshine Tour. It was during the South African Master at Kensington GC. We were playing a threesome and one player asked another what club he hit.  The player answered “A 6 iron.”  What is the penalty if any, and who gets it?

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

Tags: , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal