A Quiz from The Players Championship!

A Quiz from The Players Championship!

Today is May 16th, 2018 and we present A Quiz from the Players Championship! Rules & Etiquette Wednesday #88.  A Golf Video Blog with Mel Sole, Director of Instruction and Master Professional at the Mel Sole Golf School headquartered at Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club in Pawleys Island, SC.

A Quiz from The Players Championship!

This week’s quiz happened a few years ago at The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass.  On the famous 17th green in fact.  A player, whose name I cannot remember, had hit his ball on the green.  He went to mark his ball and as he stood up, tossed his ball to the caddie without actually looking at the caddie.  The caddie was not paying attention and the ball went sailing past and into the water.  What is the ruling?  Is there a penalty and if so, what is the procedure the player should follow?  Good Luck!  The winner will receive a free one hour lesson at either the SC, NC or NY locations.

Last Week’s Question and Answer.

A player plays a bunker shot.  In doing so, he dislodges another ball that was buried in the sand under the ball he played.  Turns out the ball on top of the sand was not his ball. The ball buried under the sand was his ball and he dislodged it when he hit the top ball.  What is the ruling? 

The answer is that the player incurs a two-shot penalty for playing a wrong ball but must replace his ball in the same spot it was with just enough ball showing to see it in order to play the shot.  If the player fails to replace the ball but continues on with the correct ball, the player incurs another two-shot penalty for playing from the wrong position.  This would be a total of four shots!

Last Weeks Winner.

The winner was Glenn Wisse of New Philadelphia, Ohio.  Congrats, Glenn.  Give us a call next time you are in the area so we can set up your one-hour lesson!

Source: Mel Sole Golf School.

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

USGA
Top25
Logo Pga Sa Small
Mizuno Logo
Vectorputting
Tripadvisor Seal